spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Shuttle cleared for Thursday launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 1, 2007, 6:06 AM ET (1106 GMT)
STS-122: logo (NASA) NASA managers approved plans on Friday to launch the space shuttle Atlantis on a mission to the International Space Station this Thursday. Atlantis is scheduled to lift off on mission STS-122 at 4:31 pm EST (2131 GMT) Thursday, December 6. The main goal for the mission's seven-person crew will be to deliver the European lab module Columbus to the station, attaching it to the Harmony module that was added to the station on the previous shuttle mission. An air leak reported in the Harmony module earlier this week will not pose an obstacle to the mission, and NASA officials said Friday they think the "leak" was simply an instrumentation error and not an actual loss of air from the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Curiosity detects methane "spikes" in Martian atmosphere
Posted: Wed, Dec 17 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)

Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Dec 16 6:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)

NASA receives $18 billion in 2015 spending bill
Posted: Tue, Dec 16 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)

news links
Thursday, December 18
ISRO launches 630-tonne GSLV Mk III
The Hindu Business Line — 6:25 am ET (1125 GMT)
Why successful launch of GSLV MK-III matters
The Times of India — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
India Takes First Step to Sending Astronaut to Space
Wall Street Journal — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
India's heaviest rocket GSLV Mk-III successfully test-fired
Hindustan Times — 6:22 am ET (1122 GMT)
India takes first step towards manned space mission
The Hindu — 6:22 am ET (1122 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list