spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Astronomers discover youngest exoplanet
Posted: Thu, Jan 3, 2008, 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
TW Hydrae exoplanet illustration (MPIA) German astronomers reported this week that they have discovered the youngest extrasolar planet found to date, a world that is still embedded within the protoplanetary disk around its star. Astronomers detected the presence of the exoplanet surrounding the star TW Hydrae indirectly, using the radial velocity technique used to find most of the over 250 known exoplanets. The star itself is estimated to be only 8-10 million years old, and is still surrounded by a protoplanetary disk of dust and gas. The planet, about 10 times the mass of Jupiter, orbits in an inner gap in the disk, completing one orbit in just over 3.5 days. The discovery puts new constraints on how long it takes for planets to form around new stars.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Oct 22 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)

Mars spacecraft survive comet flyby
Posted: Wed, Oct 22 7:53 AM ET (1153 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Tue, Oct 21 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 22
SLS headquarters developing exploration stage of rocket
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Partial solar eclipse visible Thursday in Fairbanks
Fairbanks (AK) News-Miner — 7:55 pm ET (2355 GMT)
JSC Media Center to close its doors Oct. 23
SpaceFlight Insider — 7:50 pm ET (2350 GMT)
Russian Cosmonauts Breeze Through Four-Hour EVA
AmericaSpace — 7:48 pm ET (2348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list