spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Virgin, Scaled unveil new SpaceShipTwo design
Posted: Thu, Jan 24, 2008, 6:56 AM ET (1156 GMT)
SpaceShipTwo design Jan 2008 (Virgin Galactic) Space tourism operator Virgin Galactic and vehicle developer Scaled Composites unveiled a new design for the SpaceShipTwo (SS2) suborbital spacecraft and its carrier aircraft, White Knight Two (WK2), on Wednesday. The new designs, announced in New York, feature several tweaks to the design of SpaceShipOne as well what had been shown in previous artist's concepts of SS2. The new SS2 design features a wing mounted on the bottom of the fuselage, rather than the top, and with a more elongated nose. WK2 is now powered by four jet engines, and features dual fuselages with SS2 slung between and below them. The companies did not commit to a specific timetable for flight tests or for beginning commercial service, other than that initial flights of WK2 were scheduled to begin in the summer of 2008. Virgin also said they are investigating using WK2 as a carrier aircraft for other rockets that could launch small satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches foreign military satellite
Posted: Sat, Dec 20 12:15 PM ET (1715 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 22
'Launch Commit': The Voyage of Apollo 8 (Part 1)
AmericaSpace — 8:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
'There Is a Santa Claus': The Voyage of Apollo 8 (Part 2)
AmericaSpace — 8:18 am ET (1318 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list