spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Asteroid passes near Earth
Posted: Tue, Jan 29, 2008, 6:08 AM ET (1108 GMT)
Asteroid 2007 TU24 (NASA/JPL) A small asteroid flew relatively near the Earth early Tuesday, providing scientists with an opportunity to study the object in detail. The asteroid 2007 TU24 made its closest approach to the Earth at 3:33 am EST (0833 GMT) Tuesday at a distance of about 538,000 kilometers, or about one and a half times the distance to the Moon. The asteroid, estimated to be about 250 meters in diameter, was discovered last October. The asteroid poses no impact risk to the Earth, and will not pass this close to the Earth again until at least the end of the century. Astronomers planned to use the flyby to study to make optical and radar observations of the asteroid.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list