spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
Spacewalkers replace space station motor
Posted: Thu, Jan 31, 2008, 6:05 AM ET (1105 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2008 Jan 30 (NASA) Two astronauts replaced a key motor on the International Space Station's solar power system during a seven-hour spacewalk Wednesday. Expedition 16 Commander Peggy Whitson and Flight Engineer Dan Tani spent 7 hours and 10 minutes outside the station on an EVA that started just before 5 am EST (1000 GMT). The primary task of the spacewalk was to replace the Bearing Motor Roll Ring Module, a motor that is part of the Beta Gimbal Assembly on the starboard truss segment. The motor allows the solar arrays to tilt along their axis to follow the Sun. NASA decided to replace the motor after it experienced electrical failures in early December. During the EVA the astronauts also inspected the Solar Alpha Rotary Joint, also on the starboard side the station. As on previous inspections of the joint, astronauts found contamination that may be linked to problems previously experienced turning the joint.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Wed, Sep 17 8:41 PM ET (0041 GMT)

NASA selects Boeing and SpaceX for commercial crew contracts
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:32 PM ET (0132 GMT)

NASA report criticizes management of NEO program office
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:16 PM ET (0116 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 17
SpaceX, Boeing to Launch Humans Under NASA's Watch
Houston Press — 8:28 pm ET (0028 GMT)
Wanted by NASA: Space Telescope Director with Spy Credentials
Scientific American — 8:26 pm ET (0026 GMT)
Bezos Turns to Boeing Venture for Foothold in Space Race
Bloomberg News — 8:24 pm ET (0024 GMT)
New Boeing, SpaceX plan may launch space tourism industry in C. Fla.
Orlando Business Journal — 8:23 pm ET (0023 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list