spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA presses ahead with Thursday shuttle launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2, 2008, 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)
STS-122: Shuttle on pad before launch (NASA/KSC) NASA shuttle managers have decided to move ahead with plans to launch Atlantis on Thursday after coming up with a fix for a kinked radiator hose. The hose, which carries Freon to a radiator in the shuttle's cargo bay, failed to retract properly because of a kink in the hose. Engineers have developed a fix whereby technicians will use a pole to manually guide the hose into its storage container on Sunday. Assuming that work goes as planned, NASA will start the official countdown for the STS-122 mission on Monday afternoon, in advance of a launch at 2:45 pm EST (1945 GMT) Thursday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
NASA Tests Mars Rocket Booster
Voice of America — 7:42 pm ET (2342 GMT)
NASA travels among the stars at Essence Fest 2016 in New Orleans
New Orleans Times-Picayune — 7:42 pm ET (2342 GMT)
NASA's Juno spacecraft will finally reach Jupiter this Monday
New York Daily News — 7:41 pm ET (2341 GMT)
Event horizon ringing damped by unstable space-time
Ars Technica — 7:39 pm ET (2339 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list