spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Europe launches first ATV to ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 9, 2008, 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of ATV 1 (Arianespace) The European Space Agency successfully launched its first automated cargo spacecraft, carrying supplies for the International Space Station, on Saturday night. An Ariane 5 ES lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana at 11:03 pm EST Saturday (0403 GMT Sunday) and placed the Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV), also known as "Jules Verne", into a 260-kilometer orbit. The ATV is the largest and most sophisticated spacecraft built by Europe, capable of carrying several tons of cargo, including food, water, propellant, and other items, to the station. The actual docking of the ATV to the ISS is not planned until early April to avoid conflicting with the STS-123 shuttle mission scheduled for launch on Tuesday as well as to allow for several tests of the spacecraft as it approaches the station prior to making a docking attempt.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list