spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Zenit-3SL launches HDTV satellite
Posted: Thu, Mar 20, 2008, 7:54 AM ET (1154 GMT)
Zenit-3SL launch of DIRECTV 11 (Sea Launch) A Sea Launch rocket success launched a new satellite designed to provide HDTV programming to customers in the US. The Zenit-3SL lifted off from the Odyssey launch platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 6:48 pm EDT (2248 GMT) and placed the DIRECTV 11 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit about an hour later. The satellite, a Boeing 702 model, weighs 5,923 kg and carries a Ka-band payload that its owner, DIRECTV, plans to use to provide high-definition TV services to viewers in the US. The satellite will operate from 99.2 degrees west in GEO and enter service in September. The launch is the second of six planned for Sea Launch in 2008, with up to three additional Land Launch missions, using a variant of the Zenit-3 launched from Baikonur, scheduled as well.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list