spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Report: NASA considering putting Mars rover in hibernation
Posted: Tue, Mar 25, 2008, 7:44 AM ET (1144 GMT)
Mars Exploration Rover (NASA/JPL) A budget cut to NASA's Mars Exploration Rovers project could mean that one of the twin rovers could be put in "hibernation" for an extended period, although NASA officials deny that the rover mission is in jeopardy. News reports late Monday quoted project officials, who said that they are looking at various options to deal with a $4-million cut in their operating budget for the remainder of the fiscal year. One option is to put the Spirit rover in an hibernation mode, which would keep it from performing any science. However, NASA officials said Monday night that the rover missions would be kept active, and that shutting down either Spirit or Opportunity "is not an option". NASA officials did not say, though, how the budget cuts would be enacted.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Air Force head questions schedule for RD-180 replacement
Posted: Fri, Feb 27 5:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)


SES picks SpaceX for two launches
Posted: Thu, Feb 26 6:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)

news links
Saturday, February 28
Nimoy's death honored by Nebraska's lone astronaut
Lincoln (NE) Journal Star — 7:27 am ET (1227 GMT)
Hometown 2031: Commercializing Earth's orbit
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 7:24 am ET (1224 GMT)
Why Leonard Nimoy Mattered
Time — 7:23 am ET (1223 GMT)
Leonard Nimoy And Why Space Needs Real Spocks
Forbes.com — 7:20 am ET (1220 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list