spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Jun 2, 2008, 10:08 PM ET (0208 GMT)
STS-124: logo (NASA) The space shuttle Discovery docked with the International Space Station on Monday afternoon, ready to add a new module to the orbiting outpost. Discovery docked with the Harmony module of the station at 2:03 pm EDT (1803 GMT), and hatches separating the two spacecraft opened about an hour and a half later. The primary purpose of the STS-124 shuttle mission is to install the main component of the Japanese laboratory Kibo to the station. That effort will get underway with a spacewalk Tuesday by astronauts Michael Fossum and Ronald Garan, who will prepare the module for attachment to the station as well as fetch an inspection boom left behind at the station by the previous shuttle mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 20
SpaceX seeks to buy every property near its facilities
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 7:57 am ET (1157 GMT)
The startling plausibility of Ad Astra
The Week — 7:55 am ET (1155 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list