spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian military communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Oct 7, 2001, 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton rocket launched a Russian military communications satellite Saturday. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 12:45 pm EDT (1645 GMT) and placed into geosynchronous orbit a Raduga-1 military communications satellite. The launch is the fifth this year for the Proton, and the second military launch of the year; a Proton launched a classified spacecraft in August believed to be another military communications satellite. Russia is expected to launch several more military satellites by the end of the year, but contrary to some reports last week those launches were planned before last month's terrorist attacks and are thus not a reaction to them.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list