spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-98 launch rescheduled for February 7
Posted: Thu, Jan 25, 2001, 10:27 PM ET (0327 GMT)
STS-98 mission patch NASA has set February 7 as the launch date for the space shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-98. The launch, previously scheduled for last week, was delayed when shuttle managers elected to roll the shuttle back from the launch pad to inspect wiring in its solid rocket boosters. The wiring was deemed to be in good shape, and the shuttle will be rolled back out to launch pad 39A Friday. Launch is scheduled for 6:11 pm EST (2311 GMT) February 7. The shuttle is carrying the Destiny lab module, which the five-person crew will attach to the International Space Station during their 11-day mission. The delayed launch is expected to push back other launches scheduled for later this year, and will keep the Expedition One crew on ISS into early March, several weeksm later than planned. Additionally, delays completing refurbishment of the shuttle Columbia will likely mean that one of its two missions originally scheduled for this year -- a servicing mission to the Hubble Space Telescope or a science mission -- will likely be delayed until next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list