spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese astronaut performs first spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Sep 27, 2008, 9:14 AM ET (1314 GMT)
Shenzhou-7 EVA (Xinhua) A Chinese astronaut carried out that country's first EVA on Saturday, making a brief trip outside the Shenzhou-7 spacecraft. Zhai Zhigang, one of the three members of the Shenzhou-7 crew, exited the orbital module of the spacecraft at 4:43 am EDT (0843 GMT) and spent about 15 minutes outside the spacecraft, collecting a small experiment mounted on the spacecraft's exterior and waiving a Chinese flag. Zhai wore a Chinese-developed spacesuit, Feitian, while a second astronaut, Liu Boming, wore a Russian Orlan suit and remained inside the depressurized orbital module. The spacecraft is scheduled to return to Earth early Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Saturday, February 13
Is Gravitational-Wave Claim True? And Was It Worth the Cost?
Scientific American — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
Farewell, Philae: Hunt for Rosetta's Lost Lander Ends
Discovery.com — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Exploring Alternatives: TMT would relocate if permit not secured soon
Hawaii Tribune-Herald — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list