spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Small asteroid to burn up over Africa
Posted: Mon, Oct 6, 2008, 8:38 PM ET (0038 GMT)
A newly-discovered small asteroid will enter the Earth's atmosphere and burn up over Africa in the early morning hours Tuesday, NASA announced Monday. The asteroid, 2008 TC3, will enter the Earth's atmosphere at about 10:46 pm EDT Monday (0246 GMT, 5:46 am local time) over northern Sudan and burn up in the upper atmosphere. The asteroid is only about two meters in diameter and, while releasing the energy equivalent of one kiloton of TNT, poses little risk to people or property on the ground. The asteroid was discovered just Sunday night by the University of Arizona's Catalina Sky Survey. Astronomers estimate that objects this size enter the Earth's atmosphere a few times a year, but this is the first time an asteroid has been found beforehand.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceShipTwo accident caused by pilot error, lack of safeguards
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 2:34 PM ET (1834 GMT)

China launches navigation satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 2:20 PM ET (1820 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 1
NASA just found the closest super-Earth ever
Washington Post — 7:41 am ET (1141 GMT)
Aquanauts practice space exploration off Florida Keys
Florida Today — 7:26 am ET (1126 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list