spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Odyssey makes final course correction
Posted: Sat, Oct 13, 2001, 10:38 AM ET (1438 GMT)
Mars Odyssey spacecraft illustration NASA's 2001 Mars Odyssey spacecraft tweaked its course slightly Friday, the final course correction before the spacecraft enters orbit around Mars later this month. The spacecraft fires its small thrusters for three seconds at 12 am EDT (0400 GMT) Friday, changing its velocity by 0.077 meters per second. Project managers said the maneuver went exactly as planned. The maneuver is the last course correction planned before Odyssey enters orbit around Mars at approximately 10:30 pm EDT October 23 (0230 GMT October 24).
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list