spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-126 countdown begins
Posted: Wed, Nov 12, 2008, 7:22 AM ET (1222 GMT)
STS-126: logo (NASA) The countdown for the launch of the next shuttle mission began Tuesday night with weather the one major concern for Friday's launch. The countdown for the STS-126 launch began Tuesday at 10 pm EST (0300 GMT Wednesday), with liftoff of Endeavour scheduled for 7:55 pm EST Friday (0055 GMT Saturday). A forecast earlier Tuesday featured a 40 percent chance of clouds and rain that could delay the launch. Shuttle managers said there were no other current issues that could postpone the launch. The mission, the first shuttle flight in five and a half months, is carrying equipment to the ISS that will allow the station to increase its crew capacity from three to six people. The mission will also include four spacewalks to service the station's two Solar Alpha Rotary Joints that allow the station's solar panels to track the sun; one of two SARJs has experienced problems over the last year. The STS-126 crew includes astronaut Sandra Magnus, who will remain on the station, taking the place of current ISS astronaut Greg Chamitoff.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 22
Kleos Space will use launch delay to further enhance satellite strategy
Proactive Investors Australia — 4:02 am ET (0802 GMT)
Could you survive a trip to Mars?
Australian National University — 3:59 am ET (0759 GMT)
County announces SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 3:58 am ET (0758 GMT)
Apollo to Artemis to Mars: What's next for NASA Langley?
Hampton Roads Virginian-Pilot — 3:56 am ET (0756 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list