spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts complete second ISS spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Oct 15, 2001, 2:53 PM ET (1853 GMT)
EVA outside the Pirs module of ISS (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts completed the second spacewalk outside the International Space Station in as many weeks Monday morning. Cosmonauts Vladimir Dezhurov and Mikhail Turin spent 5 hours and 52 minutes outside ISS starting at 5:17 am EDT (0917 GMT). The cosmonauts installed three experiments to the exterior of the Zvezda service module, including studies of micrometeorite impacts and the effects of exposure to the space environment of various materials. Expedition Three commander Frank Culbertson remained inside the station during the EVA, coordinating the activities of Dezhurov and Turin; Culbertson and Dezhurov will perform a third EVA on November 5. On Friday the three-man Expedition Three crew will board the Soyuz spacecraft docked to the Zarya module and move it to the new docking port on the Pirs module, freeing up the Zarya port for a new Soyuz scheduled for launch October 21 from Baikonur.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list