spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26, 2008, 6:45 PM ET (2345 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Progress M-60 (RSC Energia) A new version of a Progress spacecraft was launched early Wednesday carrying supplies for the International Space Station. A Soyuz rocket carrying the Progress M-01M spacecraft (designated Progress 31 by NASA) lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Russia at 7:38 am ESt (1238 GMT), placing the spacecraft into low Earth orbit nine minutes later. Initially one antenna that is part of the Kurs automated docking system failed to deploy after launch, but the antenna apparently deployed later after commands were resent to the spacecraft. Without the antenna deployed the ISS crew would likely have to guide the spacecraft in for ducking instead of relying on the automated docking system. the Progress is scheduled to arrive at the ISS at 7:23 am EST (1223 GMT) Sunday. The spacecraft will take four days to arrive at the ISS, instead of the usual two, to allow flight controllers to check out new computer systems that set this version of the Progress apart from previous models.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list