spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Goldin to resign as NASA administrator
Updated: Thu, Oct 18, 2001, 12:17 AM ET (0417 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Oct 17, 2001, 2:23 PM ET (1823 GMT)
Dan Goldin NASA administrator Dan Goldin announced Wednesday that he will resign from the space agency next month. Goldin addressed the space agency's employees via TV Wednesday afternoon and told them that he will retire from the agency effective November 17, several hours after the first reports of his resignation were published by several sources. Goldin said that he has accepted a position as a senior fellow at the Council on Competitiveness. "Being appointed NASA Administrator was the fulfillment of a childhood dream," Goldin said in a statement. "This is the greatest job in the world and it is difficult to leave a job you love." No word on who will succeed Goldin as administrator; Goldin said he will work with the Bush Administration to identify an interim replacement. Goldin is the longest-serving administrator in NASA history, having been nominated for the post by President George H. W. Bush, father of the current president, in 1992. Goldin's future at NASA had been uncertain since President George W. Bush took office in January, but Goldin managed to remain in office to the surprise of many.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list