spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dawn flies past Mars
Posted: Thu, Feb 19, 2009, 8:00 AM ET (1300 GMT)
Dawn flies past Mars illus. (NASA/JPL) NASA's Dawn mission flew past Mars late Tuesday on its way to the asteroid belt. The spacecraft passed 550 kilometers from the surface of Mars at 7:28 pm EST Tuesday (0028 GMT Wednesday), accelerating the spacecraft by over 9,000 km/h. The gravity-assist swingby gave the spacecraft enough of a speed boost to put it on course for the large main belt asteroid Vesta. Dawn, launched in 2007, is propelled primarily by its own ion thrusters, but needed the Mars flyby to get enough speed to make the mission viable. Dawn is scheduled to arrive at Vesta in September 2011, followed by a trip to the largest main belt asteroid, Ceres, in 2015.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 24
CU-Boulder faculty, students primed for Juno arrival at Jupiter
Univ. of Colorado — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
Hundreds flock to NewSpace 2016 conference in Seattle
KING-TV Seattle — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
House T&I Committee Dips Toe Back Into Commercial Space Launch Issues
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
Purdue Items Heading to Space
Inside Indiana Business — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list