spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

MRO enters "precautionary" mode
Posted: Thu, Feb 26, 2009, 6:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) spacecraft put itself into a safe mode this week after its main computer unexpectedly rebooted, JPL announced late Wednesday. The spacecraft automatically put itself into what JPL called a "precautionary" or limited-activity mode after the computer reboot on Monday as ground controllers worked to understand the cause of the reboot. One possible cause, according to telemetry received from MRO since the incident, is The spacecraft appears to be in good health otherwise and has not had another computer reboot since Monday's incident. However, project officials said they would be cautious in restoring the spacecraft to normal operations, stating that the process would take a few days. Monday's incident is the fifth time that the spacecraft, launched in 2005, entered safe mode.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 4 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Mar 26 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)

NASA selections boulder option for ARM
Posted: Wed, Mar 25 7:51 PM ET (2351 GMT)

news links
Thursday, March 26
Getting ready for the mission to Hell
BBC — 6:34 pm ET (2234 GMT)
Russian, American Ready for a Year in Space
AP — 6:33 pm ET (2233 GMT)
Titusville still a hub for space fans
Orlando Sentinel — 5:47 am ET (0947 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list