spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese lunar orbiter ends mission with crash landing
Posted: Sun, Mar 1, 2009, 11:06 AM ET (1606 GMT)
Chang'e-1 illustration (CNSA) China's first mission to the Moon ended Sunday when the spacecraft deorbited and crashed to the lunar surface, as planned. Chang'e-1 hit the lunar surface at 3:13 am EST (0813 GMT) just south the equator, according to Chinese officials. The spacecraft, China's first mission to the Moon, launched in October 2007 and entered lunar orbit the following month for what was planned to be a one-year mission that was later extended; no advance public notice was given of plans to deorbit the spacecraft this weekend. China is planning a second lunar orbiter in the next two years, to be followed by landers and sample return missions later next decade.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceShipTwo accident caused by pilot error, lack of safeguards
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 2:34 PM ET (1834 GMT)

China launches navigation satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 31 2:20 PM ET (1820 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 1
NASA just found the closest super-Earth ever
Washington Post — 7:41 am ET (1141 GMT)
Aquanauts practice space exploration off Florida Keys
Florida Today — 7:26 am ET (1126 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list