spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle cleared for March 11 launch
Posted: Thu, Mar 5, 2009, 7:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
STS-119: logo (NASA) Shuttle managers agreed Wednesday to make preparations for the launch of the space shuttle Discovery on the evening of March 11 after resolving an issue with a key set of valves. Discovery is planned for launch at 9:20 pm EDT March 11 (0120 GMT March 12), a date that will be finalized at a flight readiness review on Friday. Technicians had replaced a set of flow control valves in the shuttle's main engine compartment while engineers performed additional analysis on what would happen if debris from those valves broke free. The extended analysis was warranted after a similar valve cracked on the last shuttle mission last November.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 1
National Air and Space Museum Goes Digital, Showcases Past and Future
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 5:48 am ET (0948 GMT)
Buzz Aldrin Wants You to Know -- the Sky Is Not the Limit
Entrepreneur.com — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Space rocks: ASU team finds meteorites in remote Arizona desert
Cronkite News Service — 5:45 am ET (0945 GMT)
Startup Funding Space Ventures Gets a Lift
Technology Review — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list