spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle lifts off
Posted: Sun, Mar 15, 2009, 10:00 PM ET (0200 GMT)
STS-119: launch (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Discovery launched Sunday evening on a mission to the International Space Station. Discovery lifted off on schedule at 7:43 pm EDT (2343 GMT), after a trouble-free countdown. The previous launch attempt on Wednesday was scrubbed by a hydrogen leak while the external tank was fueled; no leaks were detected during the fueling process today. The main purpose of the 13-day STS-119 mission is to install the final solar panel truss segment to the station. The shuttle is also bringing to the station Japanese astronaut Koichi Wakata, who will remain on the station for four months, while current ISS crew member Sandra Magnus will return home on the shuttle.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list