spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

ISS panels unfurled
Posted: Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 7:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)
STS-119: deployment of solar array (NASA) The International Space Station is now at full power after astronauts successfully deployed on Friday the station's newest and final pair of solar panels. The twin panels on the S6 truss segment extended normally on Friday, without any sticking or snagging that had caused problems in previous deployments. The truss segment, the last to be added to the station, was launched on Discovery and attached to the station during a spacewalk on Thursday. Another spacewalk, the second of three planned during the STS-119 mission, is scheduled for Saturday, when astronauts Steven Swanson and Joseph Acaba will perform some maintenance work outside the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 31 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)

Atlas launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Oct 30 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

Progress cargo spacecraft sent to ISS
Posted: Thu, Oct 30 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

news links
Friday, October 31
Will Virgin Galactic Crash Impact Space Tourism?
Bloomberg News — 10:21 pm ET (0221 GMT)
McCarthy Statement on SpaceShipTwo Crash
US House of Representatives — 10:18 pm ET (0218 GMT)
FAA probes fatal spaceship explosion
The Hill — 10:17 pm ET (0217 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list