spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz moved to new ISS docking port
Posted: Fri, Oct 19, 2001, 12:20 PM ET (1620 GMT)
Soyuz TM-31 docked at ISS The crew of the International Space Station flew a Soyuz spacecraft from one docking port on the International Space Station to another early Friday. The three-man Expedition Three crew boarded the Soyuz docked to the nadir docking port on the Zarya module and undocked at 6:48 am EDT (1048 GMT). They maneuvered the Soyuz to the port on the new Pirs module, docking at 7:04 am EDT (1104 GMT). The maneuver frees up the Zarya port for a new Soyuz spacecraft, scheduled for launch at 4:59 am EDT (0859 GMT) Sunday from Baikonur. The crew of that Soyuz flight, Russians Victor Afanasyev and Konstantin Kozeev and French astronaut Claudie Haignere, will dock with the station on October 23 and stay for a week before returning to Earth on the Soyuz moved to the Pirs module Friday. Moving the older Soyuz module means that the docking port on Pirs will not be occupied when Expedition Three crew members Vladimir Dezhurov and Frank Culbertson conduct a spacewalk using the Pirs airlock on November 5.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list