spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Atlantis rolled out to pad for Hubble mission
Posted: Wed, Apr 1, 2009, 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)
STS-125: rollout to pad on March 31 2009 (NASA/KSC) NASA rolled the space shuttle Atlantis to its launch pad Tuesday for a long-delayed mission to repair the Hubble Space Telescope. Atlantis, attached to its external tank and solid rocket boosters, arrived at pad 39A at 9:10 am EDT (1310 GMT) Tuesday, a little over six hours after leaving the Vehicle Assembly Building. Atlantis is scheduled to launch on May 12 on mission STS-125, the fifth and final Hubble Space Telescope servicing mission. The mission was scheduled for last fall but postponed after a Command and Data Handling Unit on the telescope failed just weeks before the scheduled launch. Astronauts will replace that unit and perform other upgrades that will keep the telescope operational until 2014 or later.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 27
Delta IV rocket launch scrubbed for fourth time
My News 13 Orlando — 9:48 am ET (1348 GMT)
Delta rocket scrubbed due to severe weather
WESH-TV Orlando — 9:48 am ET (1348 GMT)
To infinity and beyond: quest for resources enters its space age
The National (UAE) — 9:45 am ET (1345 GMT)
Plea to make Moray spaceport bid priority
Aberdeen (Scot.) Press and Journal — 9:43 am ET (1343 GMT)
NASA Exec Says, 'Boldly Go!'
EE Times — 9:41 am ET (1341 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list