spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

AD: H2M 2015

"Rescue" shuttle rolled out to pad
Posted: Sat, Apr 18, 2009, 8:38 AM ET (1238 GMT)
STS-127: rollout of Endeavour (NASA/KSC) NASA moved the space shuttle Endeavour out to its launch pad early Friday so that it is in place to serve as a "rescue shuttle" if needed for the next servicing mission to the Hubble Space Telescope. Endeavour, attached to its external tank and solid rocket boosters, left the Vehicle Assembly Building at 11:57 pm EDT Thursday (0357 GMT Friday) and arrived at Pad 39B at 6:15 am EDT (1015 GMT) Friday. Endeavour was moved to the pad so that it would be ready to mount a rescue mission should Atlantis run into problems on the STS-125 mission to service the Hubble Space Telescope, scheduled for launch on May 12. If that rescue mission isn't needed, Endeavour will be prepared for the STS-127 mission to the International Space Station scheduled for launch in mid-June. This is expected to be the last time two shuttles are occupying launch pads simultaneously before the shuttle fleet is retired in 2010.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Indian launches navigation satellite
Posted: Mon, Mar 30 7:24 AM ET (1124 GMT)

Soyuz launches Galileo navigation satellites
Posted: Sat, Mar 28 6:55 AM ET (1055 GMT)

New crew arrives at ISS
Posted: Sat, Mar 28 6:45 AM ET (1045 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, March 31
Team Indus ropes in Infosys co-founder Nandan Nilekani as advisor and investor
The Economic Times (India) — 5:17 am ET (0917 GMT)
Is Mars One doomed to fail?
TouchVision — 5:16 am ET (0916 GMT)
The ultimate in reality TV
MercatorNet — 5:15 am ET (0915 GMT)
City of SPI proposes official agreement with SpaceX
Port Isabel (TX) Press — 5:13 am ET (0913 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list