spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars rover stuck in soft ground
Posted: Tue, May 12, 2009, 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
Mars Exploration Rover (NASA/JPL) The Mars rover Spirit has gotten stuck in a patch of soft ground, and project officials said it may be weeks before they can attempt to extricate the venerable spacecraft. JPL said in a statement Monday that the rover had been slipping in soft soil recent, halfway burying its five working wheels. Engineers are studying ways to get the rover out of that soil patch without further burying it, a process that could take weeks. Spirit's twin, Opportunity, got stuck in a sand dune several years ago but was able to free itself after several weeks. Spirit, which has been operating for over five years despite being designed for only a 90-day mission, has also experienced a series of computer glitches last month, although those problems have not recurred recently.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 10
Black mold delays ISS cargo launch from Cape Canaveral
Florida Today — 7:13 pm ET (0013 GMT)
SpaceX Eyes Next Ocean Rocket Landing Opportunity
Discovery.com — 7:12 pm ET (0012 GMT)
Get Immersed in Curiosity's 360 Degree Mars Dune
Discovery.com — 7:11 pm ET (0011 GMT)
'Update' on gravitational waves
BBC — 7:10 pm ET (0010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list