spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Tue, Oct 23, 2001, 12:38 PM ET (1638 GMT)
Soyuz TM-31 docked at ISS A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russian cosmonauts and one French astronaut docked with the International Space Station Tuesday morning. The Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft docked at the nadir port on the Zarya module of ISS at 6:44 am EDT (1044 GMT); hatches between the Soyuz and station opened about 90 minutes later. The TM-33 crew of Victor Afanasyev, Konstantin Kozeev, and Claudie Haignere will spend a week on the station before departing on the older Soyuz TM-32 spacecraft docked to ISS on the evening of October 30. Haignere, an ESA astronaut representing the French space agency CNES, will spend her time on ISS conducting a number of experiments in materials research, life sciences, and meteorology. "Taxi" flights such as this one are required twice a year to swap out the Soyuz spacecraft that serve as the station's lifeboat, as the Soyuz capsules are rated for only 180 days in space.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list