spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

MRO enters safe mode again
Posted: Fri, Jun 5, 2009, 5:55 AM ET (0955 GMT)
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) spacecraft is in safe mode after its computer unexpectedly rebooted this week, project officials said Thursday. MRO's computer unexpectedly rebooted at 9:10 pm EDT Wednesday (0110 GMT Thursday), putting the spacecraft into a protective safe mode. The spacecraft is in good health overall and project officials said they expect normal observations to resume next week. The reboot is similar to one that took place in February, and in both cases project engineers believe that a cosmic ray hit triggered the reboot.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Short circuit halts Mars rover operations
Posted: Thu, Mar 5 6:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)

UK narrows list of potential spaceport sites
Posted: Wed, Mar 4 6:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)

Military weather satellite explodes in orbit
Posted: Tue, Mar 3 6:44 AM ET (1144 GMT)

news links
Friday, March 6
Meet One of the Finalists Hoping for a One-Way Trip to Mars
Los Angeles Magazine — 5:54 am ET (1054 GMT)
100 Virgin Galactic jobs offered at Long Beach Airport career fair
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 5:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Bermuda-based satellite firm makes history
The Royal Gazette (Bermuda) — 5:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Crimea Annexation Boosts Russia's Deep Space Capabilities
Moscow Times — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
Mining Asteroids: There's a Lawyer for That
OZY — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list