spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

ISS crew performs spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jun 6, 2009, 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
ISS EVA 2009 June 5 (NASA) Two members of the International Space Station's crew performed a nearly five-hour spacewalk Friday to prepare the station for the installation of another Russian module. Station commander Gennady Padalka and flight engineer Mike Barratt started the spacewalk at 3:52 am EDT (0752 GMT), behind schedule due to high carbon dioxide readers in the Russian space suits. During the 4-hour, 54-minute minute spacewalk the two installed docking antennas, a docking target, and electrical connectors on the zenith port of the Zvezda service module. Those systems will be used for the docking of a new Russian module, the Mini-Research Module-2 (MRM2), scheduled for launch late this year. MRM2 is similar to the Pirs module already attached to the station and will provide an additional docking port for Soyuz and Progress spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Military weather satellite explodes in orbit
Posted: Tue, Mar 3 6:44 AM ET (1144 GMT)

Dawn approaches Ceres
Posted: Tue, Mar 3 6:27 AM ET (1127 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 6:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, March 3
Tiny CubeSats could hitch a ride with ESA mission
New Scientist — 5:38 pm ET (2238 GMT)
Spacecraft nears dwarf planet Ceres
Nature News — 5:37 pm ET (2237 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list