spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches satellite radio spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 1, 2009, 4:24 AM ET (0824 GMT)
Proton-M launch of Sirius FM-5 (ILS) A Proton rocket launched early Wednesday a new spacecraft for US satellite radio company Sirius XM. The Proton-M lifted off at 3:10 pm EDT Tuesday (1910 GMT Tuesday, 1:10 am local time Wednesday) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Its payload, the Sirius FM-5 satellite, separated from the Breeze M upper stage a little over nine hours after launch. The spacecraft will be located in GEO at 96 degrees west, the first satellite of the former Sirius Satellite Radio to be located in GEO; previous Sirius satellites had been launched into elliptical orbits. The satellite was built by Space Systems/Loral and weighed 5,820 kilograms at launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list