spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA tests alternative launch abort system
Posted: Thu, Jul 9, 2009, 6:31 AM ET (1031 GMT)
MLAS test launch (NASA) NASA carried out a successful test of a proposed alternative launch abort system for its Orion spacecraft on Wednesday. The Max Launch Abort System (MLAS) test took place Wednesday at 6:26 am EDT (1026 GMT) from NASA's Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia. Four solid rocket motors boosted a capsule mockup to an altitude of one mile, where it then deployed parachutes to descend to a splashdown. The system is an alternative to the launch abort system (LAS) currently being developed for Orion, using a escape tower similar to that used with early capsule designs. Data from the MLAS test, though, could support the development of the LAS and other Orion systems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list