spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: October 24
Posted: Thu, Oct 25, 2001, 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)
The launch of a Taiwanese sounding rocket failed early Wednesday, AFP reported. The rocket lifted off from the Chiupeng base in southern Taiwan at 2:19 pm EDT (1819 GMT, 2:19 am Wednesday local time), but the second stage of the rocket failed to ignite after the first stage shut down as planned. The rocket, which was going to study the upper atmosphere, reached an altitude of only 15 km before plummeting into the sea... Astronomers announced this week that they have for the first time discovered a pulsar in an oxygen-rich supernova remnant. The discovery should allow astronomers to measure the mass and composition of the supernova's progenitor, and thus make a closer connection between pulsars and the stars from which they form... Astrobiology researcher Christopher Chyba is the recipient of one of 23 MacArthur Foundation "genius" fellowships, the foundation announced Wednesday. Chyba hold the Carl Sagan Chair for the Study of Life in the Universe at the SETI Institute and is one of the pioneers of the field of astrobiology. Chyba, who served on the national security staff of the White House in the mid-1990s, is also co-director of the Stanford University Center for International Security and Cooperation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list