spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks at ISS
Posted: Fri, Jul 17, 2009, 7:31 PM ET (2331 GMT)
STS-127: shuttle approaching ISS (NASA) The space shuttle Endeavour docked with the International Space Station on Friday afternoon, beginning an 11-day stay at the station. Endeavour docked with the station at 1:47 pm EDT (1747 GMT), and hatches between the shuttle and station opened about two hours later. Shortly after the hatches opened the shuttle and station exchanged a crew member, as Tim Kopra, who flew to the station on Endeavour, took his place on the station, replacing Japanese astronaut Koichi Wakata. Endeavour is planned to remain docked to the station for a week and a half, installing an experiment "porch" on the Japanese module Kibo and performing other work on the station. Five spacewalks are planned while the shuttle is docked to the station, with the first scheduled for Saturday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list