spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Countdown begins for STS-128 launch
Posted: Sat, Aug 22, 2009, 10:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)
Countdown clocks started Friday night for the early Tuesday launch of the space shuttle Discovery on a mission to the International Space Station. The countdown started at 11 pm EDT Friday (0300 GMT Saturday) for the launch, scheduled for 1:36 am EDT (0536 GMT) Tuesday from the Kennedy Space Center. Shuttle managers said Friday that they're tracking on technical issues and forecasts call for a 70 percent chance of acceptable weather at launch time. Discovery will bring various equipment ranks and other items to the station, including a treadmill. The mission will also swap one member of the station's six-person crew, replacing Tim Kopra with Nicole Stott.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

Russian research satellite unresponsive to commands
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)

Progress launches, arrives at ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 24 8:09 AM ET (1209 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 26
Scrubbed again! Delta IV rocket to try for launch Saturday
My News 13 Orlando — 9:21 am ET (1321 GMT)
Delta IV launch scrubbed again due to weather
WOFL-TV Orlando — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
Americaís Top Threats in Space Are Lasers and Nukes
Defense One — 9:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Launching a reusable spacecraft
Marketplace — 9:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Why SpaceX still canít launch military satellites: The í90s.
Washington Post — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list