spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle launch pushed to Friday night
Posted: Thu, Aug 27, 2009, 9:38 PM ET (0138 GMT)
STS-128: logo (NASA) NASA officials decided Thursday to wait another nearly 24 hours before making another attempt to launch the shuttle to further study a faulty valve. Discovery, which NASA had hoped to launch on mission STS-128 at 12:22 am EDT (0422 GMT) Friday, is now tentatively planned for 11:59 pm EDT Friday (0359 GMT Saturday). The launch, which already slipped from early Tuesday to Wednesday because of weather, was further delayed because of a problem with a fuel valve that. While shuttle managers believe the problem is with instrumentation, rather than the valve itself, they needed additional time to come up with alternative ways of measuring that the valve is indeed closed should the instrumentation again fail to signal that. NASA has until August 30 to launch the shuttle before having to wait until October.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list