spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches WorldView-2
Posted: Fri, Oct 9, 2009, 5:28 AM ET (0928 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of WorldView 2 (ULA) A Delta 2 rocket successfully launched a high-resolution commercial remote sensing satellite on Thursday. The Delta 2 7920 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 2:51 pm EDT (1851 GMT) and placed the WorldView-2 satellite into Sun-synchronous orbit. The spacecraft, built by Ball Aerospace for DigitalGlobe, will provide panchromatic images with a resolution of 46 centimeters and multispectral imagery at a resolution of 1.8 meters. The company said the spacecraft should start providing commercial imagery in about 90 days, joining the company's QuickBird and WorldView-1 spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 20
SpaceX seeks to buy every property near its facilities
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 7:57 am ET (1157 GMT)
The startling plausibility of Ad Astra
The Week — 7:55 am ET (1155 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list