spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz undocks from station, returns to Earth
Posted: Wed, Oct 31, 2001, 9:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russians and one Frenchwoman undocked from the International Space Station Tuesday night and safely returned to Earth several hours later. The Soyuz TM-32 spacecraft undocked from ISS at 8:39 pm EST Tuesday (0139 GMT Wednesday) and landed 180 km southeast of Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan at 11:59 pm EST (0459 GMT). There were no problems reported with the undocking or landing. The spacecraft carried the three-person "taxi crew" that arrived at the station October 23 on Soyuz TM-33: Russians Victor Afanasyev and Konstantin Kozeev and French cosmonaut Claudie Haignere. The TM-33 spacecraft remains docked to the station to serve as a lifeboat in the event of an emergency on the station. The TM-32 spacecraft spent six months docked to the station and had reached its design life in orbit. The Expedition Three crew of Frank Culbertson, Vladimir Dezhurov and Mikhail Turin will remain on the station until relieved by the Expedition Four crew in December.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list