spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 18, 2009, 7:11 PM ET (0011 GMT)
STS-129: logo (NASA) The space shuttle Atlantis docked with the International Space Station on Wednesday and the combined crews immediately got to work transferring supplies to the station. Atlantis docked with the station's Harmony mode at 11:51 am EST (1651 GMT), two minutes ahead of schedule, and hatches separating the two spacecraft opened 90 minutes later. The station and shuttle crewmembers started work shortly thereafter on the transfer of 15 tons of supplies from the shuttle to the ISS, starting with the move of an Express Logistics Carrier from the shuttle's cargo bay to the station's truss by the shuttle and station robotic arms. The first of three EVAs of the STS-129 mission, by Mike Foreman and Robert Satcher, is scheduled for Thursday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Tuesday, August 30
SpaceX to Attempt First-Ever Recycled Rocket Launch
NBCNews.com — 12:16 am ET (0416 GMT)
SETI’s alien signal? Don’t get too excited.
Washington Post — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list