spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Astronauts complete second STS-129 EVA
Posted: Sun, Nov 22, 2009, 10:52 AM ET (1552 GMT)
STS-129: EVA #2 (NASA) Two astronauts completed the second of three planned spacewalks of the STS-129 shuttle mission to the ISS on Saturday, again working ahead of schedule. Mike Foreman and Randy Bresnik completed the 6-hour, 8-minute spacewalk at 3:39 pm EST (2019 GMT) Saturday, completing all of their scheduled tasks ahead of schedule. The two installed an antenna assembly and relocated a floating potential measurement unit, and installed a wireless video system. The two also installed a second and third payload attachment system, a task originally scheduled for the mission's third spacewalk, and several other miscellaneous tasks not originally scheduled for Saturday's EVA. Bresnik, whose wife was expecting, announced Sunday morning that he had been told she gave birth Saturday night in Houston to a baby girl.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 31 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)

Atlas launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Oct 30 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

Progress cargo spacecraft sent to ISS
Posted: Thu, Oct 30 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

news links
Friday, October 31
Pilot killed in Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo crash in Mojave Desert
KERO-TV Bakersfield, CA — 10:13 pm ET (0213 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list