spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars orbiter exits safe mode
Posted: Sat, Dec 12, 2009, 9:31 AM ET (1431 GMT)
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) exited an extended safe mode this week because of computer problems. MRO had been in safe mode since August because of a series of unexpected computer resets, and controllers were concerned about the possibility of back-to-back resets of its primary and backup computers which, if it took place, could jeopardize the mission. Controllers uploaded a software patch last week that would prevent such a scenario and brought the spacecraft out of safe mode earlier this week. Normal scientific observations by the spacecraft are expected to begin next week.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Friday, May 6
Enceladus Jets: Surprises in Starlight
NASA/JPL — 7:44 pm ET (2344 GMT)
Witness Juno's Arrival at Jupiter Live from JPL
NASA/JPL — 7:44 pm ET (2344 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list