spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Delta 2 launches NASA astronomy satellite
Posted: Mon, Dec 14, 2009, 1:05 PM ET (1805 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of WISE (NASA/KSC) A Delta 2 successfully placed a NASA astronomy satellite into orbit on Monday. The Delta 2 7320-10C lifted off from SLC-2 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 9:09 am EST (1409 GMT) and placed the Wide-Field Infrared Survey Explorer (WISE) spacecraft into a sun-synchronous orbit. The launch had been scheduled for last week but was delayed by a technical problem with the rocket as well as poor weather at the launch site. WISE is designed to perform a full sky survey at infrared wavelengths, observing objects ranging from nearby asteroids to distant galaxies. It will begin scientific observations after completing a month-long on-orbit checkout.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 6:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)

Astronauts wrap up series of ISS spacewalks
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 6:11 AM ET (1111 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 28 8:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)

news links
Monday, March 2
Weather forecast for early Earth involved iron rain
New Scientist — 7:34 pm ET (0034 GMT)
What are those bright spots? As Dawn nears Ceres, mystery remains
Los Angeles Times — 7:31 pm ET (0031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list