space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

NASA releases first WISE image
Posted: Thu, Jan 7, 2010, 1:08 PM ET (1808 GMT)
WISE first image (NASA) NASA released on Wednesday the first image taken by a new infrared observatory launched last month. The Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer (WISE) spacecraft is designed to survey the whole sky at infrared wavelengths to search for objects ranging from nearby asteroids to distant galaxies. The WISE image released Wednesday was taken shortly after the telescope jettisoned its lens cover last week, two weeks after its launch from California. WISE will begin its survey once it completes its calibration, and will continue observations until the spacecraft exhausts its supply of frozen hydrogen needed to cool its detectors in October.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Tuesday, December 1
How one exoplanet got booted to the edge of its solar system
Washington Post — 6:37 pm ET (2337 GMT)
SpaceX wants to land next booster at Cape Canaveral
Florida Today — 6:34 pm ET (2334 GMT)
New Kepler Mission Cranking Out Exoplanet Finds — 6:33 pm ET (2333 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list