spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Small asteroid passes near Earth
Posted: Thu, Jan 14, 2010, 7:37 AM ET (1237 GMT)
A small object believed to be an asteroid passed near the Earth Wednesday. The object, 2010 AL30, came within 122,000 kilometers of the Earth at 7:46 am EST (1246 GMT) Wednesday. The object had been discovered just Sunday. There had been some speculation that the object might be a spent rocket stage from a previous launch, such as for ESA's Venus Express mission, but scientists at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory said it's more likely, given the object's orbit, that it is an asteroid about 10-15 meters across. Such objects pass closer to the Earth than the Moon's orbit about once a week, and if it had been on a collision course it would have burned up in the Earth's atmosphere.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list