spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Jan 28, 2010, 2:00 PM ET (1900 GMT)
Proton launch of Raduga 2010 Jan 28 (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket placed a Russian military communications satellite into orbit early Thursday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 7:18 pm EST Wednesday (0018 GMT Thursday) and injected the Raduga satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit about nine hours later. The satellite is the latest in a series of military communications satellites operating in GEO; the specific slow in GEO this satellite will operate from was not disclosed. The launch is the first Russian mission of 2010 and the second orbital launch worldwide so far this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list