spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Shuttle cleared for April 5 launch
Posted: Sat, Mar 27, 2010, 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
STS-131: logo (NASA) NASA managers gave their approval Friday to plans to launch the space shuttle Discovery on April 5. Discovery will launch at 6:21 am EDT (1021 GMT) Monday, April 5, on the 13-day STS-131 mission to the ISS, delivering supplies to the station. There had been earlier concerns that a problem with a leaky helium valve in one of the orbiter's OMS pods could delay the launch, but managers concluded that the valve is normally open most of the time in orbit and that other subsystems would prevent pressurization problems with the thruster system. The shuttle mission will be the first of the final four shuttle missions on the current manifest, with the final shuttle mission scheduled for launch in September.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list