spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Wed, Apr 7, 2010, 7:07 AM ET (1107 GMT)
STS-131: shuttle on docking approach (NASA) The space shuttle Discovery smoothly docked with the International Space Station early Wednesday despite the failure of an antenna on the shuttle that is used in the docking process. Discovery docked with the forward end of the Harmony module of the ISS on schedule at 3:44 am EDT (0744 GMT), and hatches separating the two spacecraft opened about 90 minutes later. The docking took place without the use of the radar on the shuttle that provides ranging information. The Ku-band antenna used for the radar system failed shortly after the shuttle reached orbit; the antenna is also used to transmit video and other data from the shuttle. The shuttle is carrying a cargo module in its cargo bay that will be attached to the station Wednesday night, with the first of three spacewalks planned for the mission scheduled for Thursday night.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list