spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


No additional spacewalk needed for ISS repairs
Posted: Thu, Apr 15, 2010, 8:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
STS-131: logo (NASA) NASA managers decided late Wednesday that they would not perform an additional spacewalk on the current shuttle mission to the International Space Station in order to repair a faulty valve. NASA had considered adding the spacewalk after encountering a stuck valve in a nitrogen pressurization system that is part of the cooling system whose ammonia tank was replaced in a series of spacewalks during the mission. Engineers decided that the problem did not pose an immediate risk for the station, allowing them more time to either troubleshoot the problem or perform an EVA after the shuttle leaves to replace the nitrogen tank.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 14
'It's Been A Long Way': 45 Years Since Apollo 14 (Part 3)
AmericaSpace — 9:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Astronomers Report Results of First Search for Visible Light Associated with Gravitational Waves
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics — 9:32 am ET (1432 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list